h1

SNSD shines us with ‘Genie’

June 30, 2009

SNSD finally released their 2nd mini-album, ‘Genie’. There are six songs in the album with one track being a duet between SNSD’s Jessica Jung and SHINee’s Onew. According to some sources the album is doing great in Korea and that 소원을 말해봐(Genie) and Etude are performing well in the charts. Here’s the track list of the album.

01. 소원을 말해봐(Genie)
02. Etude
03. 여자친구(Girlfriend)
04. 남자친구(Boyfriend)
05. 동화(My Child)
06. 1년 後(One Year Later)

The album is just okay I think. Very typical for an SNSD album. ‘Etude’ is actually the only one good. Well, for my taste it’s the only one worth listening to. It was one of those song that you’ll see yourself in it. I mean if there would be a music video, your everyday life would be it. Well, the melody gave me that feeling. I don’t know yet what the song means.

‘Genie’ is their title track but it didn’t have the catchiness that of ‘Gee’. Or maybe I was just expecting something upbeat. Honestly, the only song of SNSD that I like is ‘Gee’. According to wikipedia they have released several songs already, ‘Into the New World’, ‘Girls’ Generation’, ‘Kissing You’, and ‘Baby, Baby’. I tried to listen to these songs but I’m not really feeling them. The songs, including Genie, are just so gender bias. Maybe that’s why I like Wonder Girls more. In Korea guys singing and dancing to SNSD’s songs might be okay but going outside of Korea, the guy doing it would have social problems.

Another thing, I thought I would understand the album by listening to the songs, but apparently not. I still can’t get why they use the military theme? I would have understood if they dressed up as belly dancers. The album doesn’t sound military. Maybe it’s a Korean thing.


Credits: yesasia.com
Credits: http://i41.tinypic.com/2cgitd.jpg

Leave a Reply

