h1

2NE1 starts the fire

July 8, 2009

YG’s new girl group, 2ne1, has just release their first mini-album recently and what an album it is. I don’t know if it will be a hit in Korea but it is a hit on me. I have not always been in sync with the Korean public in these kind of matter. ‘I Don’t Care’ and ‘In the Club’ really got me. I’m so liking these tracks. I’ll include them in my playlist together with SNSD’s ‘Etude’.

01. Fire
02. I Don’t Care
03. In the Club
04. Let’s Go Party
05. Pretty Boy
06. Stay Together
07. Lollipop (Bonus Track)

I really recommend the album. I like the all the songs aside for ‘Stay Together’. I’m not feeling the track. The song seems lost together with the other tracks in the album. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me.

With this release of 2ne1, the K-pop world will be really exciting. As you know, SNSD has released a mini-album a few weeks ago and everyone is expecting it to dominate the charts starting this week. SNSD’s previous mini-album took Korea by storm. Everyone is doing the ‘Gee’ dance. It’s almost like the ‘Tell Me’ virus they say. Well, I’ll agree with the almost part. ‘Gee’ didn’t come off that great here in my country unlike ‘Tell Me’.

Anyway, 2ne1 has been performing quite well for a rookie. With the warm reception they have been getting since their debut, I think they’ll be a competition for SNSD. With the absence of Wonder Girls in Korea, SNSD has really established themselves as the number one girl group in their country as of now.

I’m actually excited how well SNSD will perform in the charts now that they have real competition. I have always thought that ‘Gee’ generated its success because of the lack of other popular groups and quality music at the time of its release. Now, SNSD will face against SHINee, 2pm, the comebacking Brown Eyed Girls and I would say, 2ne1. Let’s see how things will go. This week I think belongs to SNSD but the next week will be an interesting one.

Credits:
yesasia.com
love-911.blog.banjig.net

2 comments

  1. I’m excited too.


  2. I think they’re the best rookie ever. Even Wonder Girls and Big Bang did not reach this much success. I really like this album.



Leave a Reply

