h1

Philippines does ‘Nobody’ wrongly

July 26, 2009

A few days ago, I stumbled on this vid. It’s a cover of the Wonder Girls’ ‘Nobody’ by some actresses in the Philippines. Normally I would be happy because the wonder is spreading, but I was disappointed after watching their cover. They used a different lyrics. The lyrics was a fanmade. It was written before JYP decided to do an english version.

I really don’t know why they have to use this lyrics when there’s an official english one. To some, you might think I’m being silly but the problem with this situation is that the english ‘Nobody’ is still being promoted. Non-fans who are getting fascinated with the Wonder Girls might get the wrong idea. And it is a little bit disrespectful to JYP.

Yesterday, they did it again. I don’t know if it’s the same show. I mentioned this in wonderfulsworld.com and they said that we should e-mail the broadcasting station. I encouraged every Wonderful out there to write a reaction e-mail. As Wonder Girls fans we should try to ensure that the wonder is spreading the right way. So please e-mail the TV station at feedback@abs-cbn.com. We’ll be doing JYP a favor.

Video:
http://www.youtube.com/user/kapamilyaUNO
http://www.youtube.com/user/carminiwithlove99

4 comments

  1. someone should inform the channel or music show about the performance of Wonder Girls English Version of Nobody! It’s the wrong lyrics and it shouldn’t be cast on live Television. If they want to perform “Nobody English” please purchase on ITunes for the real English Version. It’s embarrassing and sad at the same time. thank you.


  2. agreed.. that was really sad, I feel bad for the fan that made this lyrics just to have it on some cheap show 😦

    And I don’t get why the audience is getting so exited, its obvious that they’re lypsynching.


  3. …but the real english version is kinda confusing…is it 100% in englsih words?…coz some part of the lyrics is not clear, dont know if its english or korean…


    • But the english used here isn’t grammatically correct. Here’s the lyrics they used. I took it from this video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BabUXKHJ5Og

      “Why are you trying to push me away?
      you know that I hate it,
      you ignore what im saying
      Why are you trying to send me to other?
      You push me away like a little
      each day why?

      Saying that this is for my own good
      Saying that you are just not worth it
      Please, stop it right now coz’
      you know me enough that i will come back to you no matter what!

      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want no one else but you
      Can’t have anyone but you
      I want nobody nobody nobody nobody

      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want no one else but you
      Can’t have anyone but you
      I want nobody nobody nobody nobody

      All the pushing won’t change my feelings
      I am happy to have you,
      more than willing to please you
      i’m begging you please
      don’t walk away from me
      Coz’ i can’t be happy away
      from your side

      Saying that this is for my own good
      Saying that you are just not worth it
      Please, stop it right now coz’
      you know me enough that i will come back to you no matter what!

      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want no one else but you
      Can’t have anyone but you
      I want nobody nobody nobody nobody

      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want no one else but you
      Can’t have anyone but you
      I want nobody nobody nobody nobody

      I don’t want nobody, body
      I don’t want nobody, body
      Life is unperfect without seeing you
      I cannot have anyone but you… ahhh

      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want no one else but you
      Can’t have anyone but you
      I want nobody nobody nobody nobody

      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want nobody, nobody but you
      I want no one else but you
      Can’t have anyone but you
      I want nobody nobody nobody nobody

      Rap:
      BacK to the days when we were
      so young and wild and free
      Everything we had back then
      was like a dream
      If only i could turn back time
      Why do you keep on pushing me away?
      why do you push me away?
      I don’t want nobody, nobody,
      nobody. nobody but you”

      Here’s some grammar errors, words placed incorrectly, and some phrases that doesn’t really make sense.
      (1) Why are you trying to send me to other?
      (2) All the pushing won’t change my feelings?
      (3) You push me away like a little each day why?

      I think the reason why some fans like this is because it sounds like the Korean version. I mean the last syllable of the line.

      Korean Version: nan dareun sarameun sirheo, niga animyeon sirheo
      Unofficial English Version: I want no one else but you, can’t have anyone but you
      Official English Version: How could I be with another, I don’t want any other

      Sunmi and Sohee’s parts in the official English lyrics are quite good actually. So much better than the fake lyrics.

      Sunmi:
      Why are you trying to, to make me leave ya
      I know what you’re thinking
      Baby why aren’t you listening
      How can I just
      Just love someone else and
      Forget you completely
      When I know you still love me

      Sohee:
      Telling me you’re not good enough
      My life with you is just too tough
      You know it’s not right so
      Just stop and come back boy
      How can this be
      When we were meant to be



Leave a Reply

