h1

The Search for the Top Ten Most Talented Idols in Korea Part 3

September 29, 2009

In a few hours, this blog will be turning 100 days. This might not mean that much to you but to me it is. I still can’t believe that I’ve made it 100 days. With my layback attitude, this blog should have been deleted days after it was created.

As I posted before, I’m doing an article for the 10 most talented Korean Idols. I’ve trimmed the list for the last time and removed six people. To review, all active idol groups of today are qualified for the honor. My first elimination was base on their singing abilities, dancing skills, and overall charms. I took idols from each groups who I think can be successful when their group disbands. That left me with 27 idols.

The 27 idols were again trimmed with the basis of longevity. Their charms weighted more than their talents in this elimination. Let’s face it. Half the reason why Hyori and Rain is successful is their public appeal. Bada is a better singer than Hyori but the latter is more popular and more well received. This elimination trimmed the list to 16. Backtrack my posts to see the entire list.

To get the 10 most talented korean idol, I have to eliminate 6. I used many pro con lists to determine who will make the cut. And now, here’s the people who unfortunately did not make it. In no particular order.

Kim Hyun Joong

He’s a pretty boy and he can sing but I feel his singing is not in par and unique unlike the other people in the list. His dancing isn’t as impressive as the others as well. But the guy is very funny and surprisingly pretty. Honestly, he’s the only one in SS501 I truly know. Talent wise he’s the best in the group also but it’s just that the other people in the list have more to offer than him. I think once SS501 disbands, he should venture into acting or variety. I like him in ‘We Got Married’. His tandem with Hwangbo was one of the few entertaining couples on the show if not the most entertaining.

Minji

The maknae of 2NE1 really has talent to offer. Plus she’s cute. But the main objective of the list is to know which ten idol would do greatly when their respective groups disbands now. She’s definitely the future of YG Entertainment as well as Kpop. Her skills still needs improvement. Maybe time will be a help. Right now, it’s suicidal for her career if she goes on solo.

Kyu Hyun

Another maknae didn’t make the cut. Super Junior’s Kyu Hyun has got to be the best vocalist in Super Junior. No offense to Yesung and Ryeowook, but I think Ryeowook’s voice can sometimes be annoying and Yesung is not as charming as Kyu Hyun. It really all boils down to charms. Talents and charms are two different things but both should be amazing for an artist to be successful. Though Kyu Hyun has these qualities on his arsenal, it’s still not enough for a spot in the top 10. I think because of the massive number of his group, he can’t show more than what we are seeing.

Kim Junsu (2pm)

I have to comment on the name first. I think he should have used a stage name. Xiah Junsu is quite famous already when 2pm debut. Anyway, going back. Junsu can really sing. He is the main vocalist of 2pm. His dancing isn’t that bad as well. But I think what he lacks is charisma. Honestly, among the 16, he has the least charisma. As I said above, talent and charm must be of equal weight for an artist to be successful. He does have charisma, it’s just that other people in the list just have more.

Lee Donghae

Sorry to the ELFs, I was honestly surprised that he made it this far. Seriously, I never noticed his singing before I made the list. In my first elimination. I took out members in each group that has talent to back them up. Donghae can really dance and his singing isn’t that half bad. I actually forced myself to watch vids of him singing. When the 2nd elimination happened, he got through because he had personality to stay in the business. In both elimination, he’s in the middle. Mediocre is the proper word to describe him I think. He’s not the best in anything but he does goes by. I don’t think he’ll make it if he does decides to go on solo.

Park Ye Eun

Though I’m a big Wonder Girls fan, I can’t deny what the numbers are saying. I based my last elimination with a set of pro con lists. I gave each artist a point if they show this certain quality. And after all those pro con lists, Ye Eun wasn’t part of the top ten. I personally think the ranking is fair. She has talents and charms but not as much as those in the top 10. I see a Bada in her and Sunye the Hyori.

So here it is. The top ten.
01. CL
02. G-Dragon
03. Hero Jaejoong
04. Lee Junho
05. Min Sunye
06. Park Jaebeom
07. Taeyang
08. TOP
09. U-Know Yunho
10. Xiah Junsu

The ranking will be revealed in the coming days. And later in the day, I’ll be posting the 10th in the list. Comment if you may. I do accept your opinions.

Pic:
milkteazoo.wordpress.com
balmicky.wordpress.com
flickr.com
asianpopcorn.com
snsdkorean.wordpress.com
kiatan.com

15 comments

  1. At least I got Hyun Joong and Donghae right. I mean I guessed that they won’t be part of the top 10.

    The three DBSK and three Big Bang were obvious. I’m excited for who will be where. I think G-Dragon will place 1st.


    • definitely agree…the 3 bsk and bigbang should definitely be on the list…that shows how really good the 2 groups are…and they definitely deserve their success and popularity…

      i really think g dragon would place 1st because he has many things to offer in kpop, amidst what his fans and anti-fans would say…

      i just wish that minji was up there…huhu…

      i think its good that the groups dbsk, bigbang, 2ne1, 2pm, and wondergirls are the only groups in there…becoz they are the only ones that kept me listening to kpop even amidst controversy…

      lastly, kudos to yg for really valuing talent over looks. his talents has really something new to offer in the kpop industry…even bom and dara…(that’s a fact)


  2. Wow, I thought Minji and Ye Eun would be part of the top 10. But you do bring up a point. If 2NE1 disbands right now, Minji would be at a lost.

    Also, if I do compare Ye Eun with the TOP 10. She looks like in the losing end. I think his closest competition is Junho. So I think Junho is 10.


  3. 1 2ne1
    2 2pm
    3 Big Bang
    3 DBSK
    1 Wonder Girls

    It’s weird that all 10 came from the three top agencies.
    4 YG
    3 JYP
    3 SM (well, right now they are with SM)


  4. I think it will be XIah Junsu.

    Happy 100th day. You really went the distance to commemorate this day. I’m a frequent visitor of your blog. What’s nice about this is that you really open room for discussion and not just reposting what is posted in blog news site.

    Keep it up. maybe next time, 1000th day project? hehe. Goodluck!


    • Hehe, thank you. 100 days might not mean anything to anybody but for me it really is an accomplish. I don’t know about the 1000th day. I hope this blog is still up by then but I doubt it. Again, thank you,


  5. xiah junsu should be the first on the list. to tell youthe truth iam reallysurprised that jaejoong madde on the list and changmin and yoochun didn’t. i mean they are pretty good like jaejoong. so, i would really appreciate if you could please point out the reasons why you choose someone to be on the list. anyways i really think xiah junsu should be on the list. even though i am not a big fan of dbsk or any of the above artists there. i am a reallybig fan of music so, i try to listen to everyone and follow them up. so from what i have seen from every artists, i have to say xiah junsu has got all the x.factors to top the korean music industry. His vocal ability is truly amazing. Infact i don’t know any idol singer that is even closer to having the musica ability xiah junsu posseses. Its sad when people onlyvote for the people they favor instead of voting for the true talent. Although i am not a professional singer, becuse i listen to so much music that i can tell who is goodor not. Xiah junsu definitely is one of the most precious singer in korea and he deserves much more respect than what he gets. Although i am not his fan, i trully respect him. However not onlyis he a good singer but he is also a great dancer. Its amazing how talented he is. Not only his talent but he also has great personality that can stick in entertainment business. Maybe because he is soo good many accomplished singers respect him. He definitelyis oneof the most precious jewels in korean entertainment as well as sm town. They will benefit soo much from him if they treat him good. Rest of your list are really good and they are well deserved to be in top ten. But really when you look at everything i think XIAH JUNSU has got everything to get number one title. Man the guy is amazing. I don’thow someone can be soo good at every single thing. His charishma is always overflowing and the fact that he is soo good at live and can express himself while singing is trully talented. I hope he gets number one because seriously i think he can make the top out of everyone. I am waiting for your decision.


    • just admit it that your his fan…with that long post…haha…there’s nothing wrong


    • Huh? I think you got it wrong. It’s not the complete ranking. It was alphabetically arranged.


  6. i also want to comment how awesome your blog, i enjoy reading your comments and insights in everything kpop, you’re very sensible, different from the delusional fans i read in other blogsites…i feel that you really care about kpop (or is it just me)

    i also enjoy your charts…i hope you won’t get tired doing that…because your my news source…even others are quoting you…hehe anywei gudluck to your site, and more days for it…


    • Thank you. I’ll try to do better. Hehe. Thanks for commenting and the visit.


  7. nah nah i’m not his fan. Infact i don’t favor anyone. Like i said everyone listed above is very talented. To tell you the truth i like Big Bang more than dbsk so when people say DBSK are top idols i get jealous alot. But nomatter how much i like Big Bang, I see xiah junsu as a trully talented artist that can change the label of idol into something respectful. Even the artists you have eliminated are talented but like you said it’s not about having talents like Bada but the ability to stick in entertainment business and have a successful career so, even though i would prefer daesung or g-dragon and even seungri to be number 1 but no matter how hard i try, i can’t deny the fact that xiah junsu is flawlessly talented. I mean i saw their 4th album comeback interview and they were asked about rival gruops like big bang, ss501, suju etc and it was Xiah junsu that was able to answer it. None of the members knew so they all looked at xiah junsu and he answered it without hesistation. So my point is not only is he a really good singer or dancer but he is well mannered and he can act like a leader when he needs to. I think he is probably got everything to be a top soloist. But i also think either g-dragon or taeyang should be second. i am really surprised daesung is not on the list because i thought he was really good public figure. his personality and his talent is really needed inentertainment business. By the way if you guys don’t get what i’m trying to say about junsu, just look at some of dbsk’s interviews. you guys will know what i’m talking about. I am mesmerised by his live singing.

    P.S. once i start writing about something and i want people to get my point accross i tend to write alot. Its not because i like them, it’s because i truly believe and support what i’m saying. sorry if its too much.


  8. what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!


  9. oh!!! god how can you put u-know in the 9th spot he’s the best among all. he is the king of dance and i think… micky yoochun is also talented and one of the best… i don’t thinks hero is deserved to be the top 3… i am a big fan of DBSK/TVXQ so please choose only the best… i could say yesung had a good vocal cord… no doubt… for me the best top ten are.

    1. YESUNG(SUPER JUNIOR)

    2. U-KNOW(DBSK/TVXQ)

    3. TOP(BIGBANG)

    4. JUNGHYUN(SHINEE)

    5. YOOCHUN(DBSK/TVXQ)

    6. KYUHYUN(SUPER JUNIOR)

    7. LEEHONGKI(FT.ISLAND)

    8. YOUNGSAE(SS501)

    9. JUNHO(2PM)

    10. EUNHYUK(SUPER JUNIOR)

    I PERSONALLY CHOOSE THEM BECAUSE WHENEVER I WATCH THEIR PERFORMANCE I SEE TO IT THAT THEY ARE THE BEST ON THEIR OWN TALENT… LIKE THE NUM. 1 YESUNG HE HAD THE GOOD AND SOFT VOICE.. THE NUM. 2 U-KNOW I LIKE HIS DANCING SKILL AND HIS RAPPING STYLE.. NUM. 3 TOP


  10. HE HAD A GOOD BEAT BOXING STYLE THE NUM. 4 JUNGHYUN I THINK EVERYONE SEE HIS PERFORMANCE IN RINGDINGDONG HE HAD A CLASSIC VOICE NUM. 5 MY YOOCHUN EVEN THOUGH I LIKE HIM, HE ALSO ONE OF THE BEST RAP ARTIST IN KOREA AND, HE ALSO ONE OF THE GOOD ACTOR NOW IN KOREA, AND HE IS A GOOD LOOKING (HANDSOME) GUY NO DOUBT….
    NUM. 6 KYUHYUN OF SUPER JUNIOR HE ALSO ONE OF THE BEST VOICE OF SUPER JUNIOR AND ONE OF THE LEAD DANCER… HE IS ALSO A MEMBER OF K.R.Y WITH YESUNG AND A MEMBER OF SUPER JUNIOR M
    NUM. 7 LEE HONGKI IS NOW POPULAR THIS DAY.. HE SANG ALMOST THE OFFICIAL SOUNDTRACK OF HE’S BEAUTIFUL..
    NUM. 8 YOUNGSAE IS THE BEST VOICE OF SS501
    NUM. 9 JUNHO ONE OF THE BEST DANCER IN KOREA NOW..
    NUM. 10 EUNHYUK IS THE LEAD DANCER OF SUPER JUNIOR AND THE LEAD RAPPER IN THE SAME TIME….



Leave a Reply

