h1

10 Most Talented Idol Groups: Eliminated – Kara, T-ara, Brown Eyed Girls, Rainbow and ZE:A

November 5, 2010

Again, I have trimmed the list for my “10 Most Talented Idol Groups”. As said in the title, Kara, T-ara, Brown Eyed Girls, Rainbow and ZE:A are not one of “10 Most Talented Idol Groups”. I don’t think it’s even a shock for you guys knowing what these 4 can do and what the remaining groups can do.

Let’s start with the newcomer, Rainbow. I’ll say it now. I don’t know much about this group. I researched on them but only got so little. You might say that’s it’s unfair for me to judge them so early. But as an onlooker, if they’re not showing much, all I can assume is that they don’t have anything more.

Rainbow can dance. I think even better than Kara. But vocally, they don’t have that variety. Yes, a few can hit notes but hitting notes doesn’t mean singing right? So comparing them with the people on the list and having their performances as basis, they have to be eliminated.

Moving on to ZE:A, this is one of the biggest disappointment in KPOP I think. I’m not saying they suck. They are really popular nowadays but the thing is, I think they’re just average talent-wise. Probably it’s the song given to them. They’re not able to show much because of the song. ZE:A is a nine member group and I cannot understand why their routine is that easy. There are 9 of them to share the song, and the singing parts are not really distributed that evenly. After School is an 8-member female group (soon to be nine) and I’m in disbelief that After School’s routines are harder than the 9-member male group ZE:A.

No offense, but it really does seem like Star Empire created ZE:A as a boy next door group. You know what I mean? A group that will survive because of their looks. I know they work hard but from what I can see, ZE:A’s working hard is like other group’s slacking off. Again no offense intended but it’s the harsh truth.

T-ara is one of the best girl group in terms of vocals I think. As a whole T-ara can sing but if they dance at the same time, I think that’s the problem. Two or three members find it hard to sing and dance at the same time. Maybe that’s why their routines are a bit sluggish before “I Go Crazy Because of You” and why their vocals was harshly criticized at the promotion of the said song. They can’t sing and dance at the same time which is the downfall of T-ara when compared to other groups.

Brown Eyed Girls is the oldest in my list but I think you would agree that they should leave this early on my list. Gain, Narsha, Miryo and Jea can really sing. But in Kpop today, if you’re deemed as an idol you have to also be good in dancing which the Brown Eyed Girls lacks.

And finally, Kara. Kara is the most popular of this 5 that I eliminated but I think it’s only just, that they went out this early. What put Kara on top is their songs. Not their singing or dancing but their songs. You kinda can compare them to SNSD. SNSD is actually known for their songs also. But SNSD is sync (well, because of easy routine) and a few of the members of SNSD can really sing. When we compare Kara to them, I think Kara is a bit behind. I’m starting to lose my words. I don’t know what to say anymore to justify Kara’s elimination. But I think you will agree if you compare Kara to those that remained.

Do comment if you have some violent reactions.

5 gone and 22 remains in the hopes to be part of the “Ten Most talented Idols”.
01.) 2AM
02.) 2NE1
03.) 2PM
04.) 4minute
05.) After School
06.) B2ST
07.) Big Bang
08.) DBSK
09.) f(x)
10.) g.o.d
11.) Infinite
12.) MBLAQ
13.) Miss A
14.) Secret
15.) SHINee
16.) Sistar
17.) SNSD
18.) SS501
19.) Super Junior
20.) Teen Top
21.) U-Kiss
22.) Wonder Girls

Pic:
asianpopcorn.com
galaxieblog.com.my
twistedstars.wordpress.com
kpoplive.com
anything-asian.net

23 comments

  1. I think the same. I think talent is more important then a pretty face of a catchy song. For that i don’t think that SNSD or 2PM should be on the list of top 10. 2Pm can dance,but they just can’t sing. look at their performance on sbs end show 2009. But I think that 2AM, 2NE1, B2ST, BIG BANG, DBSK, after school, and shinee are part op the top ten. but that is just my opinion, i also do’n’t now the newer bands well.


  2. My vote for a spot in top 10 goes to Big Bang,2AM,miss A & After School


  3. i am actually surprised with Brown Eyed Girls and T-ara.. t-ara has 5 girls with good vocals and BEG are equally talented.. but i do agree, t-ara can’t sing and dance at the same time.

    anyway, back to the top 10, i have my list also.
    G.O.D
    DBSK
    2AM
    BIG BANG
    WONDER GIRLS
    MISS A
    2PM
    AFTER SCHOOL
    SHINEE
    B2ST


  4. what?

    Brown Eyed Girls are probably the most talented girl group out there imo. They’re heaps of talent. Vocals are more important than dancing although yes, Jea obviously doesn’t dance that well and a bulk of the dancing falls on Gain, but they’re definitely top 10 material.


    • and I kinda disagree to SNSD’s choreography being easy. INTW was one of the hardest choreos (for idol groups) out there. WG have much more easier choreo in comparison. Their newer stuff have much easier choreo but it’s the same with established groups like WG.

      My top 10 list wouldn’t have either SNSD or WG though.


  5. I see where your bias is. Yeah ITNW world is hard but so is Wonder Girls’ Irony. The thing is, after WG and SNSD debut they went far away from the genre of their debut song. I don’t think you can even argue about that. After ITNW, all of the songs by SNSD have been relatively easy. Please don’t think little of me because of my different view. I do know what I’m talking about. I’m a dancer. This is what I do. SNSD’s routines have been easy after ITNW. Gee, Genie, Kissing You, Baby Bay, Oh, and now with this Hoot.

    Regarding the Brown Eyed Girls, we are talking about here the Most Talented “Idol” Groups. Yes, singing is important but as an idol, singing and stage performance are of equal weight.

    Also, I don’t think BEG is that good singing-wise. What they have shown so far is their stability to hold notes. They are always in tune. But there seems to be a wall between them and the audience. I don’t know how to explain. Vocally, Candy Man was better but it didn’t really got to people because the audience did not quite get it.

    Again, as I have always stated. Put your bias aside. If you can’t do that then do not include your bias or your hated group in your analysis. Emotions can get your judgement clouded.


    • We have differing opinions but yeah. My bias isn’t to the BEG because I honestly don’t stan them like I stan SNSD, however, I feel vocally they’re the best of the girl groups out there. It’s my opinion on that. There’s very few people that can match Jea vocally and solo stages alone, both Gain and Narsha have proved themselves to have what it takes.

      I just think you’re taking dance as too high of a factor compared to other areas. Most of these groups out there don’t even write their own songs and just take whatever the company gives to them. The only group I know (aside from BEG) that’s involved with writing/composing their music is Big Bang. That’s a factor I feel you’re not giving enough recognition (but that’s purely my opinion)

      Maybe it’s that they’re cut earlier when there are clearly less talented groups still in the running that’s getting to me. If they were cut right before the top 10, I think I wouldn’t have such a strong reaction.


      • I get your point. I actually do. BEG is vocally good but they’re just ok when you have to judge them on their stage performance. I’m not judging because of how well they dance but how well they perform on stage. So dancing does have a factor. Same goes to T-ara. Their stage performance fell because they weren’t able to sing and dance the same time. It’s all about the stage performance.


  6. Brown Eyed Girls is actually good, but if you compare them with the groups that remain, I think BEG is at a disadvantage.


  7. I’m more excited to see who’ll be out next than to know who are on the top 10. I think Secret and BEAST are out next.


  8. Yo should eliminate this five next. If you really are basing it to talent.

    4minute
    Super Junior
    Miss A
    Secret
    Teen Top


    • and 2ne1


  9. I guess I’m the only one hoping Secret is not out next, they’re very underrated =/

    I feel 4minute will be eliminated next amongst girl groups and more male groups will be eliminated next round since this one focused more on the female groups.


    • i also hope they don’t fall out next.. i noticed them and sistar just recently and i’d say they’re pretty good..


  10. to me, the groups that deserve to be in the top 10 are:
    Big Bang, 2ne1, Shinee, DBSK, 2am, Miss A


  11. how can u put these group as eliminated list ?
    when u write about Kara, u said that they popular only because the song. do u forget how Kara being as Kpop’s top girlgroup ? because of MISTER. the song isn’t so great if u hear it without ever seen the butt dance. and did someone can do the butt dance as great or more greater than Nicole ? i dont think so. i’ve already seen SNSD, BEG and other group dancing to Mister and they cant shake their butt as great as Nicole.

    Also for Rainbow, Rainbow is a group with 7 member, 4 of them are Vocalist and 3 of them are Rapper. do u ever heard their ballad singing ? all of the vocalist have a great voice! i found that their vocal is better than Kara and their dance SYNC VERY WELL ! u can see their live performance and their dance is more sync than SNSD (sorry if i comparing them to SNSD, i do this because u’ve comparing Kara to SNSD so i think its fair if i compare SNSD with other group. eventhough im Sone).

    Overall all of the idol group have one, two, three or more talented member and maybe one useless member. how come u didnt eliminated U-Kiss, Teen Top and Infinite while u eliminated the TALENTED BROWN EYED GIRLS ?


    • Read my other posts. It’s about the group’s overall performance not how many talented members they have in the group.


  12. I’m sorry what? As others have discussed here, how could you have eliminated BEG? I don’t think you’ve been listening to the right songs if you think their vocals are ok. Listen to Come Closer or their rendition of You Raise Me Up. There’sa reason why Lee Young Hun wanted to and did colloborate with Jea. She’s considered a powerhouse vocal. And Miryo is a legit MC, and recognized by other MC’s in Korea.
    Now I know you’re not gonna change your list but I just want to give you the information I know well. I just think the reason why they’re better than most of the groups up there is because they came together to simply make good music, and not to actually be an idol. They actually went to study and major in music in college, and that might not count much for an idol, but as artists they certainly merit for something.


  13. pardoN? BEG? what??? they were the most talented idol group in term of vocal and rap. they were singer not dancer. if dancing is that important, i thinks the backup dancer dance much2 better than most of the idol group… is dance is that important? coz if as an eye candy i still can consider it, but…in my mp3 plyr? NEVER!!!


  14. hahaha, i guess brown eyed girls put a middle finger in your face with the release of sixth sense and cleansing cream…


  15. I disagree. I think T-Ara is one of the best group. They may have 2 or 3 members who couldn’t do well in sing and dance, but at least they don’t lipsync just to make a perfect performance. Unlike others who are not confident with their voices and end up lipsyncing to make it look perfect. Tch. I’m not a fan of T-Ara cuz’ obviously I’m a BlackJack, but I like watching T-Ara’s live performances cuz’ they’re not like other groups. Imagine singers, but lipsyncing. They should be called lipsync idols instead.

    ❤ 2ne1 ❤


  16. Hey, you shouldn’t have eliminated T-Ara. I had watched idols live in M Countdown, and I got to say T-Ara is daebak. I even observe T-Ara is even better with some of your lists idol group. Watch them live and you’ll see~ T-Ara’s talented. =)


  17. *nod* You’re a good observer. T-Ara may not be the best, but they’re multitalented. By the way, I’m a BlackJack, too, and a V.I.P 😉



Leave a Reply

