h1

10 Most Talented Idol Groups: Eliminated – B2ST and U-Kiss

November 26, 2010

Here I am again for my farewell project. December is around the corner so I better speed up. As I promised, on the 1st of December I’ll post the 10th Most Talented Group. I have to eliminate four more to get my “10 Most Talented Idol Groups”. Looking at my pro-con list, B2ST and U-Kiss is not part of the elite 10. I’m actually surprise that both went this far but I can’t deny the numbers.

B2ST is first known as a group of rejects. Meaning there are members that almost made it as members of currently popular groups like 2pm and Big Bang. But as time goes by, they have made a name for themselves. The reason for their elimination is vocals and stage performance. As all of you know by now, I’m a dancer. I know and see what’s wrong in any routine, and what’s wrong with B2ST is their lack of harmony. Individually, they can dance, but the problem is that they don’t gel together. Watch their performances, someone is always half a second late. Also, they seem to not care about the details. My friends and I always do this “leg test” when judging our routine. Watch B2ST performances and take an extra effort in their legs. The angles and distance is all over the place. That means they need more practice. Details is important when your routine is fast. I mentioned this before, I really like their “Shock” choreography but they didn’t really deliver. Their timing is really off. I think if SHINee, Infinite or MBLAQ was given that song, it would have work.

Now with their vocals. I’m not saying their not in tune. But like their dancing, I think their voices doesn’t gel together. It’s actually weird. It’s like they have different styles and no one wants to back down to make the song work. Also, is it me or none of them have that voice. I don’t know that exact term. I think firm. I’m saying quality of voice. Reaching the notes is one thing but having a firm voice is another. I hope I’m saying it right. Compare the voices of MBLAQ’s Seungho, GO, SHINee’s JongHyun, Onew, Infinite’s WooHyun, Sunnggyu and U-Kiss’ Kevin, SooHyun to the vocalist of B2ST. The other groups’ vocalist is firm and full. I hope you get what I’m trying to say. I’m weak in terminology. I don’t remember the exact word so I hope you get what I mean. Technically, B2ST’s elimination is attributed to the lack harmony of their individual talents.

Now with U-Kiss, they’re good actually but not as good as the remaining groups. I know they have been criticize over and over because SooHyun and Kevin technically sings the entire song. But as I said in my previous post, this ranking rates the group’s performance. So having members singing just words doesn’t affect the ranking as long as the performance is good. And with regards to U-Kiss, their performances are good. They just lacks charisma and opportunity. Charisma in a sense that people would want to know then more and opportunity in a sense of having good songs. No one cares about U-Kiss before they released “Man Man Ha Ni”. So maybe if they were given songs like “Lucifer”, people would take interest in them more. This group can do other groups’ songs actually.

2 more are gone and only 12 remains in the hope to be part of the “10 Most Talented Idol Groups”.

01.) 2AM
02.) 2NE1
03.) 2PM
04.) After School
05.) Big Bang
06.) DBSK
07.) f(x)
08.) g.o.d
09.) Infinite
10.) MBLAQ
11.) SHINee
12.) Wonder Girls

I’ll leave you with my favorite performances of B2ST and U-Kiss.

B2ST – Shock

U-Kiss – Bingeul Bingeul

Pic:
10asia.co.kr
kpoplive.com

Vid:
hawoosin
ancient236

12 comments

  1. Wow. 2 more. I think f(x) will be gone. The last one is a head turner.


  2. Hi, do you mind to give the number ordered by who you think the best and what the reason? I kind of curious since I agree with some of your points. Thanks^^


    • I’m sorry, I didn’t quite get the question.


      • I’m sorry if it’s not clear. Currently, you arrange the groups name in alphabetical order, right? I wonder whether you could arrange the groups according to who is the best? I mean 1st rank, 2nd, so on, including the reason. Am I clear now?


      • Hmm. That’s how it is supposed to be. Backread my posts. I eliminate groups at a time until I get 10. From there I eliminate them one by one, stating my reasons, until I get to #1.


  3. i think the next one out shud be f(x)


  4. b2st eliminated but not mblaq?.. ok i get it=(


  5. Oh, I’m sorry I just recently found your blog so I thought you will stop at 10. My bad.
    Btw, I just realized that you didn’t include Co-Ed & Dalmatian (I’m sure because they are quite new). Do you mind give an opinion about their performance? I’m really interested to know your opinion. Thanks.


  6. Omg…I’m so glad i found this blog! I might not be a pro dancer but I do like to look into detail when it comes to performances ! …Its the MAIN reason why I got into kpop… because of the dancing!
    Anyway…its so sad to read about B2st being “the group of rejects” Although I saw that as I started finding out about their trainee days ( BTW I’ve been into kpop no longer than 6 months…but i do know my basics lol)What I do find funny about being called”rejects” is that it reflects on their height…If im not wrong B2st mblaq and 2pm are about the same age ..and yet if you see a B2st member standing next to this groups ..they freaking look like elfs!

    On the other hand with U-kiss…eehh no offense to their fans .but why even bother …the few times ive seen their live performances the only one that caughts my eye is Dongho and his ARROGANT Look! ( which is hot ) Oh and the guy that sings most of the song…but thats mainly because im forced to ! haha but the rest are just w.e …they probably do show some personality on realities..but def not on stage. Really hope they improve though!


  7. I think when you say, a firm voice, what you’re trying to say is, a plain voice that can carry a tune. Plain, isn’t bad, Taeyeon’s voice is plain, but it’s the best in SNSD, same thing with G.O from MBLAQ.


  8. u-kiss is the best
    i love kevin woo


  9. ….they eliminate sistar, snsd, now b2st and u-kiss….im sorry who picks these groups cause these groups are just as talented wtf, most of the groups left on the list people could honestly care less about, i mean you can disagree with me but at this rate the group you like will also be eliminated so in others this list is jank



Leave a Reply

