h1

10th Most Talented Idol Group: g.o.d.

December 5, 2010

Finally, the top ten. I’m confident with the ten that I picked and I know you guys won’t argue with it. Saying that, our 10th place are the former proteges of JY Park. JYP is now known to be the only company to make a hit of every single group he debuted. And this string of hit groups started with g.o.d.

g.o.d. is one of the few if not the only group from old school Korea that can actually compete with the idols of today. Some of you might not have the chance to know these guys, since it’s been years since the last time they were active, but I can guarantee that the time spent looking them up would not be a waste.

As I said in my previous posts, this ranking is to judge idol groups’ performances. What’s good about g.o.d. is that they know what they are. They know what they can do and they know where they are good at. No pretense. Cough H.O.T. Cough. Cough B2ST Cough. g.o.d’s music has a rap/street kinda sound which is a rarity at the time. I think the only ones who were doing music like g.o.d’s were Sechkies. But if you listen to Eun Jiwon’s group and Son Hoyoung’s group, you’ll immediately know the difference. It’s really hard to explain pretence so I’ll give an example. f(x)’s Amber, Wonder Girls’ Yoobin, and Brown Eyed Girls’ Miryo are rappers. Kara’s Nicole, Secret’s Zinger and 4minute’s maknae are not. There is a big difference between a rapper and a person who can rap. I know it’s hard to understand what I just said but I hope you get the idea. Being able to hold a high note doesn’t necessarily mean you can be a singer. And that’s what the difference between g.o.d. and other idol groups from then, as well as now. They know what they are and they built their success on that.

Another thing, g.o.d. is the only old school idol group that is actually good live. Nothing against other groups from that time, but you would really feel talent on g.o.d. It’s actually strange that instead of today’s groups singing more live, lipsynching is more of an option. At the time of g.o.d., there was no trainee period. Members were chosen through auditions and not a pile of trainees the company has prepared beforehand. Makes you wonder.

Saying that, g.o.d. placed only 10th in this ranking because of their limitations. The group can compete with some idols today but there is no way they can out-battle the remaining groups. The 9 that remained are trained to sing and dance at the same time. Meaning the 9 groups has more variety to show since they are not just singers but also are dancers. Again I’ll raise my point. A dancer is different to someone who can manipulate his body to fit the routine. But still, you can’t help but be amaze. Hope idol groups today will take into heart the importance of singers singing live.

I’ll leave you with my favorite performances of g.o.d.

g.o.d. – Road

g.o.d. – 헤어짐보다 아픈 그리움

Vid:
jama35
aoistar201

Pic:
mbc112.egloos.com
club.paran.com
myrcvideos.com

3 comments

  1. I so agree. g.o.d. is really one of the best that Korea has brought out.

    My guess.
    9th Infinite
    8th 2PM
    7th 2ne1
    6th 2am
    5th after school
    4th mblaq
    3rd shinee
    2nd Big Bang
    1st DBSK


  2. 1 from Jtune,1 Woolim,1 Pledis, 2 YG, 2 SM,3 from JYP…kudos to JYPNation and to the man himself who produces great artists…


  3. The rank is quite satisfied. It is very same with my thoughts. But only if the Infinite position is taken by Wonder Girls, i would be greatly happy. (i’m a proud jyp nation fans) Haha.
    But never mind. As this rank was made in 2010, so it is quite matching. If this rank is made again in this year, 2012, WG would definitely listed, hopefully.

    My review,
    1. Bigbang | I approve definitely. BB is the best though i’m jealous b’coz i really hope that all their great things belong to 2PM. LOL

    2. DBSK | Approved. No wonder they are called legend.

    3. Shinee | Although i want 3 & 4 switched, but never mind. I acknowledge Shinee too.

    4. 2PM | My first favorite group which leads me to JYP Nation.

    5. MBLAQ | Of course. I wonder why koreans can’t see their talents.

    6. AFTER SCHOOL | Idk. I just not into to AS. Btw, accepted.

    7. 2AM | The best voice among the k-pop groups. Excluded g.o.d as i didn’t hear to any god’s song besides god is not a kpop idol.

    8. 2NE1 | I can’t deny their talent besides their own unique style. They are the adding reasons why i’m supporting YG Fam too.

    9. INFINITE | As i said, i hope that this is swithched to WG. LOL. No offense.

    10. G.O.D | I don’t know much about them except their voices. Btw, approved.

    Other groups that i see them as one of the most talented based on my thoughts only. And based on when i comment this which is in year 2012.
    1. SS501
    2. WG | lol
    3. Miss A

    Btw, i like your blog, your writing style. It is so rational. I hardly met any fans that being like this.



Leave a Reply

