h1

4th Most Talented Idol Group: 2PM

December 27, 2010

The ranking seems to be predictable already. I know a couple of you already have 2PM in mind as the next one.

2PM got up high in this ranking because they do have talent to outperform those that were eliminated before them. “Again and Again” was the song that catapulted the group to where they are now. Well, their Idol Army hosting job also might have had a hand on that. So far, the said song is still their best. “Again and Again” showcased and highlighted 2PM’s vocals and stage presence. Also, their manly image made them stood out from the rest of the boy groups since most if not all of these groups are banking on the cute image.

We all know 2PM can dance, but so does U-Kiss, Infinite, and MBLAQ. What sets 2PM apart from other dancing group is their vocals. They are very good live. 2PM has the strongest vocals of a male group currently active. Again, as a group. When I say strong, I don’t mean reaching those high notes. What I mean is that even in low register notes, the vocals are impressive. Though 2PM is not as varied as 2AM, they are very good at what they are. To think of it, all of JYPE artists are very good at what they are. Hmm. Plus points again for JYP.

A clear example is Hwang Chansung. 2PM’s maknae vocals are in the lower octave. His range can be compared to MBLAQ’s Chundong, U-Kiss Dongho, and Infinite’s L. But I ask you, who can sing better if ask to sing the same song? Again, 2PM like 2AM and g.o.d. are very good on what they are. They may not be able to sing 2AM songs as a group but they’re perfect if they’re given songs that fit them as a group.

My main concern with 2PM right now is that their talent is not maximize. “Again and Again” is an epic song because of it’s execution amidst its difficulty. But after their “Time for Change” promotion, their songs have been “theatrical” (heartbeat) and “easy” (Without You and I’ll Be Back). They clearly are following the girl group trend of catchy songs and dance but “Again and Again” was also catchy. Why won’t they go back to that?

I read in allkpop that Taecyeon decides if a song should be included or not. So maybe he’s a reason why 2PM’s songs are all so easy. I’ll say it outright since I’ll be gone soon, I think it won’t even matter if I say it. I don’t like Taecyeon. He’s the reason why I abandoned my fandom of 2PM aside for the fact that their songs have literally declined in appreciation. Since Jay Park left 2PM, all eyes were set on Taecyeon. And Taecyeon is loving it which was a turn off for me. Do you guys had this loser schoolmate in high school that wants to be popular so much, he’d do anything? That’s what I see on Taecyeon. Remember the SNSD Sunny thing? The SNSD Yuri thing? SNSD YonnA thing? And recently, the SNSD Jessica thing? Can you see a pattern? I don’t hate Taecyeon, it’s more of dislike. His antics are just so pathetic, it’s sad. I mean he’s a singer for god-sake not a stripper.

Going back to 2PM, I do hope that JYP will provide 2PM with songs that live to the groups’ potential. How can an artist grow if you’ll just be giving him things he can already do. It’s just like trying to learn Mathematics but all the teacher is teaching is addition and subtraction.

I’ll end it here. I’ll leave you with my favorite performances of 2PM.

2PM – Friday Night

2PM – Only You

Pic:
deenakahara.wordpress.com
100reenmusic.informe.com
soheelover.wordpress.com
last.fm

Vid:
megiorchis
kimikissu

11 comments

  1. I think 2PM is the best


  2. “Taecyeon decides if a song should be included or not. So maybe he’s a reason why 2PM’s songs are all so easy.”
    u sure u read the article correctly?or u skipped some parts? because as far as i have read and watched(happy together), all the members listen and choose the songs.i didn’t know being a spokesperson now becomes a bad thing o.O.as i can remember,a member said:when we listen to the new songs,one member would talk in satoori;one would stop the song halfway;one would say ‘this is not it’;etc etc etc.the decision would not fall on just one member.it only happened that taecyeon is braver to deliver the group’s assessment directly to JYP.that, which taecyeon became the group’s representative.
    “Since Jay Park left 2PM, all eyes were set on Taecyeon. And Taecyeon is loving it ” lol..shouldn’t u also include ‘all the pressure is on taecyeon?’


    • hmmm. what can I say? I think nothing that will appease you but still get my point across. You’re a fan and its understandable for you to protect them from anything. I only voiced out what everyone else are already thinking. With regards to Taecyeon, I did not wrote anything false. That’s all I can say. Just to point out. I’m not a hater. And if you read again, the post is not hating but more on criticizing.


      • I’m not a fan of 2PM, but I like some of their songs. From my point of view, no one put pressure or anything to Taecyeon. I believe he put himself in charge of leading 2PM, which I believe it’s not good since he just doesn’t have the capability to put 2PM in a good light. He is tactless and not diplomatic. When Jaebeom’s case was still hot, instead kept his opinion to himself, he wrote something unnecessary which was fired up the anger that the ex-hottest already have. Moreover, with all the controversies he causes… Instead of him, I believe Nichkhun is more suitable as a person in charge, new leader, since he is very careful with what he said and that’s why he is the only one who doesn’t get all the anger. So far, there’s no controversy caused by him.. He can put 2PM in a good light.
        Since I’m not a fan, I kinda understand where shockedfan’s opinion come from.
        But about the attention thing, I just still don’t understand why suddenly all eyes set to Taecyeon. How did it start? Is it because he was ripping his shirt?


  3. I have a question….What was the SNSD Sunny thing with Taec?

    I believe Again and Again was an epic song…and then they went down with I hate you, hearbeat, without you
    but I’ll be back shocked me with Chansung’s vocals! i mean he isn’t great, but he improved a lot O.o


  4. Love 2pm so much


  5. I’m not a fan of 2PM, but I like some of their songs. From my point of view, no one put pressure or anything to Taecyeon. I believe he put himself in charge of leading 2PM, which I believe it’s not good since he just doesn’t have the capability to put 2PM in a good light. He is tactless and not diplomatic. When Jaebeom’s case was still hot, instead kept his opinion to himself, he wrote something unnecessary which was fired up the anger that the ex-hottest already have. Moreover, with all the controversies he causes… Instead of him, I believe Nichkhun is more suitable as a person in charge, new leader, since he is very careful with what he said and that’s why he is the only one who doesn’t get all the anger. So far, there’s no controversy caused by him.. He can put 2PM in a good light.
    Since I’m not a fan, I kinda understand where shockedfan’s opinion come from.
    But about the attention thing, I just still don’t understand why suddenly all eyes set to Taecyeon. How did it start? Is it because he was ripping his shirt?


  6. i like there songs


  7. right because he is a great dancer for me and he is my favorite rapper and dancer at 2pm
    I love him


  8. If you don’like 2pm….so why are you post…..I like 2pm…I like and love their song….even,I not k-popper…..bye…2pm


  9. Saranghaeyo 2pm….anyeonggaseoyo



Leave a Reply

