Archive for July 2nd, 2009

h1

Soshis are going all out

July 2, 2009

SNSD fans can sometimes be so harsh. With the new controversy facing their favorite girl group, SNSD fans are giving their all to protect these girls. I don’t have a problem with that but what really bothers me is their attacks against the Uzbekistan singer, Dineyra. We just heard one side of the story, we should wait for the other before making such conclusion on the artistry of the person. There’s no need to throw personal and hurtful attacks without really understanding the situation. You can’t make out the story with only half of the book.

I think her version is better though. I mean it’s more of my taste of music that SNSD’s version. But I still don’t like the song.

Credits:

h1

Hyuna is a Wonder Girl again

July 2, 2009

As you must have heard, Kim Hyuna of 4minute was a former member of Wonder Girls. She debut with the group at around February of 2007. She’s the same age of Sohee and Sunmi. She standout the most for me because of her skimpy shorts and tight shirt when the group was promoting their debut single, ‘Irony’.

Wonder Girls were about to release their 2nd single when her parents decided to take her out of the group due to medical reasons. Kim Yoobin came to replace her and the rest is history for the Wonder Girls. I can imagine how hurtful it must have been for Hyuna. To work so hard then to have fate take you away. I think she had a feeling of regret and disappointment. Wonder Girls is no doubt the most popular Asian girl group today. That popularity could have had Hyuna with it.

Before Hyuna left the group, according to sources she was already in the ‘Tell Me’ video. She was even the Wonder Girl in the MV but with her departure, Sohee took over the responsibilities.

After all these years, fate has brought Hyuna to ‘Tell Me’ again. She never performed the song on stage with the Wonder Girls so this will be a fulfillment for her. She did work hard for the song before she was pulled out. Anyway, their performance was quite lacking. Wonder Girls are known for their synchronization. I expected them to perform better since they’re already lipsynching. But it wasn’t that bad. I’m happy that Hyuna got to perform the song with her new group. I think she’s contented.

Credits:
http://www.youtube.com/user/dnjfghk
http://www.weloveshopping.com
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UIqDL0vzcus

h1

Incidents over SNSD’s comeback

July 2, 2009

SNSD has been getting a lot of attention with their 2nd mini album even before it was released. First, the Nazi resemblance of their album cover. Because of the negative reception, SM Entertainment had to halt release and change cover to appease the public. I don’t know how much this cost the company but I think it’s a lot considering the number of albums that was sold.

Next issue the group had to deal with was the spontaneous flipping of Tiffany’s skirt by Yoona on their comeback at Music Core. Netizens were all over the blogs interpreting the incident in their own way. When I first saw the clip, I thought Yoona was angry and that Sooyoung was scolding Tiffany. But they cleared up this issue on Taeyeon’s radio show.

Another clip that netizen went crazy for is Jessica’s rude behavior towards maknae Seo Hyun. The group and SM Entertainment has not commented on this as of now. Of all the members of SNSD, Seo Hyun is my favorite. Though I still don’t appreciate their music aside for ‘Gee’ and ‘Etude’. I like her innocence. Well, she is young. The incident rubbed me the wrong way actually. In Tifanny’s case, I could think of a lot of reasonable reason for Yoona’s action but to Jessica’s. There was no reason for her to be rude. She should show a little more remorse and patient to Seo Hyun. She is older than Seo Hyun.

Lately, the group is facing the issue of plagiarism. There’s this song by an Uzbekistan singer who sounds so much like ‘Genie’. I think it’s the same song only the lyrics is changed. The version of the Uzbekistan singer was released months before SNSD released their version of the song. I don’t like the song to begin with so I really don’t care but SM Entertainment has to care. SM’s name is on the line if they don’t clear up this mess. Plagiarism is a huge crime in the music world. Check out the videos for comparison.

Source:
sradioclub.com
allkpop.com
popseoul.com

Pics:
qeagrumpygirl.wordpress.com
popseoul.com
smonelove.files.wordpress.com

Videos:
http://www.youtube.com/user/ZuhRaBegiM
http://www.youtube.com/user/sookyungie